A Branch Centre of Ramakrishna Math, Belur Math
  • Ramakrishna Math Book Stall

Swami Raghaveshananda: A Senior Monk Dedicated to the Teachings of Ramakrishna-Vivekananda

Swami Raghaveshananda is a senior monk of the Ramakrishna Order with 58 years of dedicated service. He took Sanyasa in the year 1975, embracing a life of renunciation and spiritual pursuit. He joined the Ramakrishna Order in Chennai Ramakrishna Math in 1965 and steadily rose through the ranks, eventually becoming the Manager of the Chennai Math. As Adhyaksha, he served in various locations including Salem Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama, Kanchipuram Ramakrishna Math (where he played a pivotal role in building the new Ashram), Halasuru Ramakrishna Math, and Belgaum Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama.

Presently, Swami Raghaveshananda holds the position of Adhyaksha at the Ramakrishna Math in Ooty, Tamil Nadu since 2013. Known for his powerful speaking skills and profound knowledge of scriptures and Ramakrishna-Vivekananda literature, he is proficient in Kannada, Hindi and English. Swamiji traveled extensively both within India and abroad, tirelessly spreading the teachings of Sanatana Dharma.

In addition to his spiritual pursuits, Swami Raghaveshananda is an accomplished author. He has written several books for children, including popular works such as "Ramayana for Children," "Mahabharata for Children," and "Pictorial Stories for Children" which have been translated into Tamil, Kannada, Telugu, and Hindi. His books in Kannada, namely ಒಬ್ಬೊಬ್ಬರಿಗೂ ಭಗವದ್ಗೀತೆ (Obbobbarigu Bhagavad Gita), ಕೃಷ್ಣ ಸಂದೇಶ (Krishna Sandesha) and ರಾಮಕೃಷ್ಣ ಉಪದೇಶ (Ramakrishna Upadesha) are also highly regarded.

Furthermore, Swami Raghaveshananda actively engages with the youth community, inspiring them with the life and teachings of Swami Vivekananda. He visits schools and colleges, motivating young minds to form study circles and explore the application of ancient dharma in solving contemporary societal issues.

With unwavering dedication, Swami Raghaveshananda has devoted his life to the regeneration of people from all walks of life, guided by the profound teachings of Bhagawan Sri Ramakrishna, Holy Mother Sri Sarada Devi, and Swami Vivekananda.

Presidents of Ramakrishna Math, Ootacamund

 Swami Chidbhavananda30/06/1930
Swami Prematmananda02/12/1940
Swami Nishkamananda19/10/1943
Swami Sarvajnananda19/10/1945
 Swami Ojasananda28/07/1948
Swami Niskamananda02/01/1958
Swami Nandananda06/04/1970
Swami Nishwananda11/08/1972
Swami Ekatmananda19/03/1975
Swami Shikshananda1984
Swami Atmaramananda18/03/1990
Swami Muktirupananda31/10/1993
Swami Raghunathananda29/11/1996
Swami Rajeshananda01/04/2003
Swami Sarvarupananda17/07/2005
Swami Sukhatmananda03/04/2007
Swami Raghaveshananda28/07/2013